Skip to main content

About Us

1. FSM National Government

The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) is a sovereign island nation in the north Pacific which was part of what was known as the Trust Territories of the Pacific Islands (TTPI). Right after the WWII, most of the islands in the Micronesian Archipelago, with the exception of Guam, were colonized under the mandates of the Trusteeship Agreement, giving the United States administrative jurisdiction over the entity to oversee the development of the islands in order to become self-sufficient.

In the 70's, during which the leaders of the TTPI negotiated separate political status with the United States, the Trust Territories broke up into several republics - the Commonwealth of the Northern Marianas (which chose to become a U.S. commonwealth); the Republic of Palau; the Republic of the Marshall Islands; and, the remaining island groups of Chuuk (formerly Truk), Pohnpei (Ponape), Yap and Kosrae (Kusaie) formed the FSM. The FSM established its constitutional entity in 1976 through the FSM Constitution and had formally came into existence in 1979 at which time the national government was officially opened in Pohnpei State, the new capital state of the FSM. The term Micronesia may refer to the Federated States or to the region as whole.

Through U.S. PL 99-239 (endorsing the Compact of Free Association), the freely associated states (FAS) of the Marshall Islands and Micronesia were recognized as independent states, however, reserving exclusive military defenses with the U. S. armed forces. Essentially, the enactment of PL 99-239 had removed the former Trust Territories mandates, and establishing a rather unique political relationships with the United States whereby all domestic and international affairs are handled within the jurisdictions of each republic with substantial U.S. foreign assistances to support the infra and intra-structures of the island republics.

The federation is comprised of the four (4) named and autonomous states, namely Chuuk, Pohnpei, Yap and Kosrae, and a national government consists of the executive branch, headed by a president; the Legislative by a speaker and a chief justice heads the judiciary branch. The legislative branch which formed the FSM Congress is headed by a Speaker and a Vice-Speaker and two houses: the senate (four at-large members) and the representatives (10 members). The judiciary system, headed by a Chief Justice, is comprised of the Appellate Court and the Criminal Court. The executive branch is currently made up of the departments of Education; External Affairs, Finance & Administration; Health & Social Affairs; Justice; Resource & Development; Transportation, Communication, & Infrastructure.

The president’s office is also supported by executive offices such as Environment & Emergency Management Agency; National Achieves, Culture, & Historical Preservation; Public Defender; and Statistics, Budget, Overseas Development Assistance, & Compact Management (SBOC).

2. Department of Education

Since the inception of the FSM National Government in 1979, the Division of Education was established within the Department of Social Services. In 1986, the Department of Social Services was converted into the Department of Human Resources under the auspices of the 2nd President of the FSM, His Excellency John R. Haglelgam, from Yap. Education remained a division until 1992 at which time the FSM Congress approved PL 7-97, creating the Department of Education during the tenure of the 3rd President, His Excellency Bailey Olter of Pohnpei. With FSM P.L. 10-55, the 4th President, His Excellency Jacob Nena of Kosrae, reorganized the Executive Branch in 1997 to merge Health, Education, and Social Affairs to create a new department which was named HESA. Later in 2007, the 7th President, His Excellency Emmanual Mori of Chuuk, with the approval of FSM Congress P.L. 15-09 separated HESA to create two different departments, namely Department of Education and Department of Health and Social Affairs.     

The FSM National Department of Education (NDOE) is mandated by Title 40 of the Federated States of Micronesia Codes. The NDOE is comprised of threee divisions; Basic Education & Accreditatin, Special Services, and Vocational Education and Manpower.

3. Division of Special Services 

The Division of Special Services is responsible to coordinate, monitor, and provide technical supports to the FSM states on special education program and other related services. As a mandate by the FSM Public Law 14-8, FSM is required to provide Free Appropriate Pubic Education (FAPE) to all children from birth to age 21. Since the main source of fuding for this program is from the United States Office of Special Education Program (OSEP), the Division is also required to follow the Individual with Disabilities Education Act (IDEA). Click Regulations to view these laws.