Skip to main content


The Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) is comprises of approximately 607 islands with c. 700 square kilometers of area in the Western Pacific Ocean spread over almost 2,700 km longitudinally just north of the equator some 4,000 km southwest of the main islands of Hawaii and about 2,900 km north of eastern Australia, lying northeast of New Guinea, south of Guam and the Marianas, west of Nauru and the Marshalls, and east of Palau and the Philippines. While the FSM's total land area is quite small, amounting to approximately 702 km², it occupies more than 2,600,000 km² of the Pacific Ocean.

Map of the Federated States of Micronesia

A map showing the Federated States of Micronesia